Manga recommendation: The way of the house husband

I’m a big fan of the sense of humour that manga offers and I recently caught up with the hilarious series Gokushufudou (The way of the house-husband) by Oono Kousuke so I thought I would choose this series as my first of many manga recommendations.

The title gives away a chunk of the plot but we find out in the first chapter that Tatsu the househusband is a legend in the yakuza world who decided to follow a new path. I must say one of my favourite things about the series is the main character Tatsu, it isn’t an easy feat to create a character that is extremely badass, funny and inspiring at the same time, let’s not forget he is also an incredible cook.

wohh

The art quality is top notch, definitely one of the best I’ve seen in a while because there are so many beautiful panels to look at in this series, the drawings are very detailed with some solid panel direction which makes for a smooth read. I found it interesting that the series is set in our present day, so things like smart phones and social media play a part in some chapters. The funny scenes usually involve our main character Tatsu treating the everyday life of a househusband like a yakuza mission, I guess you can’t take the yakuza out of the man.

I highly recommend this series even though it has only 20 chapters for now as its still ongoing because it is a very enjoyable comedy. Thanks for reading and see you soon.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started