Manga recommendation: Dorohedoro

Author: Hayashida Q

Status: Completed

Genre: Action, Comedy, Fantasy, Seinen, Sci-fi

Storyline: [Spoiler free summary] focuses on the adventures & misadventures of a lizard faced man trying to get his human face back. The storyline can get confusing and is pretty well written with a lot of twists and turns, it’s also quite unpredictable. The relationships between the main cast really drive the storyline forward in a really great way

Does it get good fast: Yes! The first few chapters are very intriguing and it pulls you in with action and character introductions.

dorohedoro

Art: The art style is pretty unique and it took me a little time to get used to. It has a very sketch like texture. The backgrounds and structures look really good and it perfectly fits the bizarre story. I really love the color pages and volume covers

Pacing: I was very satisfied with the pacing. It rarely drags on and each event moves the story forward.

dorohedoro-vol-6-9781421533803_lg

Humor: This series has amazing comedy, it’s one of my favourite things about the series. I believe the fact that the series doesn’t take itself too seriously adds to its charm.

Characters: I can’t stress how hard I fell in love with the characters. I haven’t read many manga series with such a wide range of likeable characters. I also really like the badass and bizarre character designs. Each main character is given a good amount of attention and screen time. You can tell Hayashida really loves some of these characters.

9

What I like most: The three things I like most about the series are the fantastic character interactions, the bonus curses (chapters) and the way Hayashida explains things to the readers through side notes and the “what we learned” section at the end of each volume.

Personal ranking: After completing Dorohedoro, I would definitely put it in my top 10 favourite manga series list.

8

Overall thoughts: Dorohedoro is a masterpiece in my humble opinion, I highly recommend it. I thoroughly enjoyed reading the series to the point that I had a bitter-sweet experience when I completed it because of my attachment to the characters. The only thing I can nitpick about is how a few panels are hard to understand due to the art style.

Thanks for reading. See you in the next post.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started